Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

Board of Directors

Daniel Daltry, Chair
Vermont Department of Health, HIV/AIDS, STD and Viral Hepatitis Program | Care Chief
Heidi Bauer, Chair-Elect
California Department of Public Health, STD Control Branch | Chief
Jennifer Vandevelde, Treasurer
Kansas Department of Health & Environment, STI/HIV Section | Chief
Barbara Conrad, Secretary
Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Center for STI Prevention | Chief
Susan Philip, Past Chair Ex-Officio
San Francisco Department of Public Health, STD Prevention and Control Services | Director
Andrea Allen Radford
Indiana State Department of Health | Manager, STD Prevention Program
Michelle Allen
Georgia Department of Public Health | State STD Office Director
Tammy Foskey
Texas Department of State Health Services | Manager, HIV/STD Public Health Follow Up Team
Lindsay Pierce
New Hampshire Dept. of Health & Human Services | STD Program Manager
Bernie Provido Schumann
Guam Department of Public Health and Social Services, STD / HIV Program | Director
Aimee Shipman
Idaho Department of Health & Welfare | Manager; Family Planning, STD & HIV Programs
William Smith
NCSD | Executive Director

William Smith is the Executive Director of the National Coalition of STD Directors (NCSD) in Washington, DC.  Previously, Mr. Smith was the Vice Present for Public Policy at the Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States (SIECUS) where he spearheaded national efforts to end abstinence-only-until-marriage programming and was involved in the creation of new federal programs to support evidence-based interventions aimed at preventing teen pregnancy and STDs, including HIV.  Mr. Smith has worked in nearly every state in the country in some capacity, as well as having been engaged in significant sexual health promotion efforts abroad.  Prior to joining SIECUS, Mr. Smith managed the Religion and Public Values Program at The National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy. Mr. Smith is a member of the Editorial Board of the American Journal of Sexuality Education (AJSE) and a member of the Executive Committee of the American STD Association (ASTDA). He is currently completing his doctoral degree in Political Philosophy with a focus on American federalism and the American founding, and is a Senior Faculty Fellow at the Robert Wood Johnson Center for Health Policy at the University of New Mexico, where he also teaches.

Jeffrey Stover
Virginia Department of Health | Director of Health Informatics & Integrated Surveillance Systems"
Richard Zimmerman
Illinois Department of Public Health | STD Counseling & Testing Coordinator

Highlighted Resources

NCSD has received multiple requests for information about sexual transmission of the Zika virus.  We understand that several state and local STD programs are not included in discussions about Zika response, or about sexual transmission of cases. 


NCSD is pleased to release an infographic designed to help explain the amazing work of Disease Intervention Specialists and others who perform contact tracing for STDs.  The infogra


Dear NCSD Members and Partners—

April is just around the corner and that means, STD Awareness Month! To mark STD Awareness Month and raise our collective voices, NCSD has planned a number of activities that create opportunities for you to get engaged!

1. Virtual Hill Day for STD Prevention: April 26th